Days Like These

There are friends and then there are friends, amiright?!  You know I am.  

Being an introvert, I tend to be choosy: think Jif peanut butter moms.  Then there’s the sarcasm no one seems to get.  You know you’ve achieved black belt when they can’t tell if you’re serious or not.  If you can handle my silence and not be freaked out by me staring about with the countenance of a serial killer, you’re a keeper.  Hence, I have few real friends.  Lucky b*tches.  

Just kidding; I’m the lucky one. 🍀

So when I freaked out several weeks ago and dropped the mother of all expletive laden blog bombs, I got a brief message from my friend, Deb.  

‘Okay, when are you off?’

Off?  Off what?  Day, meds, rocker?  I’m already there, perched on the precipice!   

Obviously she meant day because no one in their right mind shares their happy pills.  Get your own damn prescription!  💊

So Tuesday I drove the I-35 corridor to Dallas to spend the day quilting and relaxing with a group of ladies, all because of Deb’s and Mister’s efforts.  Thank you, Mister, for finding us such a nice sewing spot! 🏆.  I don’t see these women unless it’s at a retreat, so to spend time together with Deb, Allison, Leanne and Stephannie (yes, there were two of us!) was epic.

Did I take pictures of this fun-filled extravaganza?  Nope.  Too busy having a good time.  Isn’t that proof you’re having a good time, if you’re too busy to stop for pictures?But if you want proof that it happened, go HERE.  Deb has a delightful blog, My Quilty World, where she shared all the details of our day and a Facebook page, Our Quilt World.  And as a bonus, she doesn’t use nasty words. 😳

In addition to all the planning that went into the day, Deb brought me these gorgeous batiks and a pattern with my name on it!


We used the classroom at Rocking Bobbin quilt shop as our base for the day.  It’s a very nice shop and right now there’s a massive display of fat quarters that are 5/$5!  And there’s a sweet shop doggie, too.


More batiks for the Bonnie Hunter mystery, a few of those 5/$5 fat quarters, some Grunge fat quarters (be still my ❤️) and a pack of Bali strips in green.  And everything in the pretty red bag with Christmas tissue.  I’m happy.

Lenny the Featherweight decided to pull some crap (isn’t that just like a kid when you take ’em out in public?) and spew out some nasty stitches.  It was Allison to the rescue with a change in needle type and a correction to how I had him threaded.


On the sewing front, I got clue 5 finished and it wasn’t even Thursday night.  Score!!


Around 3pm, I decided to pack up and made one last stop at Golden D’or Fabrics on Harry Hines.  


Is there anything better than a batik?  I think not.  More for the Bonnie Hunter mystery.  Hey, there’s no such thing as too many when it comes to batiks!

I arrived home just in time to throw some grub at the ravenous beasts, throw on my pjs and drop off to sleep in my recliner.  

Friends, mint mochas, sewing, Mexican food, and fabric.  What a day!  Thank you, Deb, for everything.  Love ya!

10 thoughts on “Days Like These

  1. So glad it was worth the trip! Loved spending time with you and look forward to next time. Which, I hope, is very soon. Marvelous stash enhancements you made!! Hugs, Allison in Plano, Texas

  2. You are hilarious! I love a quick wit! Being an introvert myself, I get the friend thing! Good days like you had are the best!

    1. Thanks, Jan! I try to keep it real. I could try and keep it sugar coated, but I’m not a donut. I do so love quilt retreats. Such fun and I can get a lot done…or not. This year I’m going to a five day beach retreat…squeal!!!!!

Leave a Reply

