Chasing the sun to England 

I’ve quite convinced myself that most of life’s enjoyable pursuits are like eating potato chips.  Why stop with one when a multitude will do?  Reading, ogling kilted men on Facebook, quilting.  All thoroughly enjoyable in mass quantity.

Where am I going with this?  Keep your shorts on. I’m getting there.

So, if you’ve kept up with me at all you’ll remember I’ve been hand quilting an antique top made by my great-grandmother and started another pieced top for a friend with cancer.  I really do try my best to start and finish a project, but as with a New Year’s resolution, those good intentions are soon swirling the bowl like that last goldfish you forgot to feed for three weeks as a kid.  Buh-bye.

Enter in my next project.  Sigh.  I tried to resist the siren’s call, but when it involves colors of sunsets and sunrises, how could I resist?  That’s right, I couldn’t.  And so, I chugged the koolaid like a coed at a kegger.  And it’s all Deb’s fault.

Want the link?  Here ’tis.  

So, starting August 27th, I, along with other koolaid drinkers, will be Chasing the Sun on a mystery quilt along.  

First up was to find inspiration.  I’d combed the interwebs for a suitable photo to pull quilt colors from and found lots of lovely stuff, but nothing to make my heart go pitty-pat.  I eventually made my way to Instagram and a favorite account I follow.  I tagged an obscene amount of his pics and then had to narrow it down to just one.  Check it out.


Shazam!  I’ve been following Andy, @andymapp, for a while now and love, love, love every photo he posts.  And I’ll admit to getting a bit grumpy when several days pass without a new picture.  Selfish beastie.

Anyway, my Mama always says you never know until you ask and so, I asked pretty please may I use your gorgeous photo?  And then I waited. And, obviously, because I posted his picture, he gave me permission.  Either that or it’s completely pirated.  Just kidding, I got the thumbs up.  Thank you, Andy. ☺️.  

Do yourself a favor and go check out his site.  It’s gorgeous, I promise.

Next up, was to choose fabrics.  I hit up my local quilt shop, Tomorrow’s Quilts, and got color help from fellow quilter, Tina.  Thanks again, Tina!


Eight fabrics.  And no clue what we’ll be doing with them.  Eek!

First clue comes out August 27th.  I’m so excited I’m hopping around like a toddler that really has to tinkle.  There’s a visual.  You’re welcome.

2 comments

  1. Lovely colors, Stephanie, and you’re right, it’s an amazing pic! You did a great job pulling out the colors for your quilt – can’t wait to see how it turns out! Whoop whoop!!

Leave a Reply

