Time for something new

For now, I’ve shoved the quilting frame in the corner and taken up a new project.  I love hand quilting, but only in small doses and this is a honker of an endeavor.  

Nothing like going from lighter, solid colors to ‘hey, look, the quilt shop threw up!’ 


I love color.  Any.  All.  Make it so vibrant my corneas can’t take anymore.  👀.  The plan is a modified Jelly Roll Race top.  I’ve pieced all the strips end to end.  Now it’s on to piecing the top and using a quilt-as-you-go method.

I’ve even got the back pieced and ready to go.


As weird as it sounds and as much as I love each fabric in my stash, it makes me slightly nauseous to cut into a gorgeous fabric.  What if I don’t like the way it turns out?  Then I’ve wasted fabric! 😫.  Anyone else feel this way?

I hope to get it finished this weekend (fingers crossed).  In the meantime, I have a fistful of scraps to admire.  Golly, I love batiks!


Happy weekend, y’all!

8 comments

  1. Batik are my favorites too. So much that I almost never use it. I never said I was normal!!! I mainly use it for my appliqué……maybe one day I will do a full batik quilt

  2. I’m a batik fan too. Love the way the colours glow – and I’m with you on the fear of cutting into them in case I mess it up … 🙂 I’m currently finishing off one (it’s a Martingale pattern by Kim Brackett called “Kitchen Sink Quilt”) which is great for using up scraps – ‘cos I hate to waste even the little itty bitty pieces of those beautiful batik fabrics 🙂 Look forward to seeing your finished quilt!

  3. I love batiks. Cutting up the fabric is my favourite part of making a quilt 🙂 I least enjoy the quilting. It’s a necessary evil to get me to the binding which like sewing by hand.

    • I’ve always said I’m not a quilter, I’m a piecer. Quilting is like nails down the chalk board for me. And, like you, I love a hand sewn binding.

Leave a Reply

