The Hand Quilter’s Playlist

There comes a point in any quilting project, machine or hand, where I realize I need something to help push me through.  

Music or meth?

Music it is!

Yesterday, I thought the entire process would come to a screeching halt without benefit of music.  I love classical, but classical wasn’t gonna cut it this time.  If I’m machine sewing, I like 80s rock, but hand quilting needs a somethin-somethin all its own.  So, I searched Pandora and came up with a station that seemed promising and cranked up the volume.  Behold my hand quilter’s playlist and the accompanying thought that goes with it.

Greasy, grimy hands approaching your precious project clearly calls for MC Hammer’s U Can’t Touch This.

Getting into the rhythm and feeling the love of the process requires American Authors Best Day of my Life .

Having a WTH have I started moment needs Nico and Vinz’s Am I Wrong.

Stove up and creaking like an old rocking chair?  Please forgive me, but how ’bout Shake It Off by Taylor Swift?  Hey, at least it’s not Bieber!

Thread not playing nice and knotting up like a cheap garden hose?  CeeLo Green has a song for that…F@ck You!  

Still questioning your sanity about starting any of this calls for Freak by Chic.

Arms feeling like dead weight?  Try Otis Redding’s These Arms of Mine.

Finished?  It’s Celebrate by Kool and the Gang.

Certainly, the list isn’t exhaustive, but every one of these spoke volumes yesterday.

What do you listen to while quilting?

6 thoughts on “The Hand Quilter’s Playlist

  1. If I’m piecing then it’s an audio book. If I’m machine quilting then watching Netflix and if it’s hand quilting then I’m on the sofa listening to whatever is in the background.

  2. I begin a project with a complete dvd series, funny I dont enjoy a movie playing it has to be a series, what can I say, Im special ahhaahhahaahah

  3. How about Dory from Finding Nemo – “just keep swimming, just keep swimming!” I like audiobooks and podcasts – Chris Hadfield’s An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth had me completely hooked!

Leave a Reply

