Life Marches On

Recently, I shared with y’all the passing of my original quilting pal and our furry family member, Lulu the boxer.  To say we were and are devastated would be an understatement.  The house was too quiet even though I can count on one hand the number of times she barked and the daily routine of tending to her was so ingrained, we were all at loose ends.

There was talk of a future pet, something smaller, but not right now when everything was still fresh and raw.

Lulu

Fast forward a few weeks and I attended quilt retreat.  I arrived home flush with victory over my many finishes.  As a quilter, is there anything better than a bona fide finish?  I think not.

Anyway, I’d barely made it through the door when Himself confessed to putting in an adoption application at a local animal rescue.  

For a, wait for it….

miniature dachshund.

Hold the presses.

We’d just lost an 83 lb boxer and now were in the running to adopt a 12 1/2 lb dachshund.  Pardon me, but where the heck was the rest of the dog?  Never mind the fact Himself said “No small dogs”.

Three days later, Ziva was ours.

Meet our new furbaby and my mini quilting buddy.  

She’d already been named before we even knew we were going to get her…even before I’d made it home from retreat.  That’s optimism, folks.

And, yes, they named her after Ziva David from NCIS.  She certainly has the personality of the TV character.  

It’s just been a week and we are already in tune with her whims and wants.  Apparently little dogs know how to exert their will better than their larger counterparts.  

When it’s bedtime, it’s bedtime and you better not be getting up for anything.  Need a drink or trip to the potty?  Pay the piper,my friend, and listen to her bark her admonition.

She’s a pistol.

And, yes, I dress her up.  Guilty as charged!  
I miss Lulu so much, but I think this little girl was sent to help us through. 

   

Hug your furbabies tight, y’all.

6 comments

  1. Cute pup…love those eyebrows. Ziva is a great name from my favorite show. Also, I love the string quilt on your banner.

  2. Such a cute pup. We have two Westies, one of whom loves to lie on whichever bit of sewing I’m busy with. Very awkward when sewing the binding on, she gets so cross when I move her but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  3. Too cute- you know I hate to say to someone when their heart is broken that they may need a new furry baby…but sometimes that’s the perfect answer- I am so happy for you and your family. She seems very special!

    • When you’re trying to mourn one pet, it doesn’t make much sense to introduce a new one so soon, but the house was too quiet and we all were miserable. There’s no being sad around this dog! We miss Lulu so much, but Ziva’s a force of nature. Thanks for stopping by. 😊

Leave a Reply

