Destashing the Sewing Corner

There is that moment every year when I look about myself and think “Sweet sister Sadie!  Where did all this crap come from?”

Mostly it’s uttered when I’m standing at the threshold of one of The CoDefendants’ rooms, staring into the gaping maw that is the suburban equivalent of the pit of Carkoon, at the abundance of books, papers, stuffed animals and assorted detritus.  And especially those *#%?@$ Legos.  I loathe Legos.  The only thing that assuages this snarling mother beast is the lovely sound they make whilst being sucked into the bowels of my vacuum cleaner.  Bwahahahaha!

But not this time.

This time, I’m eyeballing my sewing corner and thinking there might be just a tad too much gar-bahge o’er  yonder.

And so, I’m unloading some of it.  Hopefully on y’all.  ‘Cause I’m generous like that.  And, let’s face it, I’m drowning in stuff.

I’m starting on my plethora of books.  I’ll never sew up all the patterns in all the books I currently own.  It’s disgraceful.  And overwhelming.

So, here, who wants a book?  Specifically this book.  

  
It’s in good condition.  No tears or bends.  Sure, it may to old enough to have floated over on the Mayflower, but patterns are patterns, amiright?!

Y’all know me: no jumping through hoops, no ‘you must follow’.  Just leave a comment and tell me you want it.  You really, really want it.

Let’s make the deadline for comments Monday the 8th.  I’m not one for dilly dallying.  I’ll use the very scientific method of having one of the house inhabitants draw a name.

I’ll keep going through the stash, culling treasures.  Stay tuned.

23 comments

  1. No, I don’t really want/need/covet your book. I have more patterns than I could ever make in my lifetime, even though I am a relatively new quilter. I just want to make sure you know about Freecycle. It is a Yahoo message board with local groups around the world. Search for Freecycle.org. If you have something that you want to find a new home for, you post it and somebody will respond and say they want it. Make the exchange, and there are 2 happy people. And nobody pays postage. I have gotten rid of a swingset (the nice man came and took it apart in my back yard and hauled it away for his little daughter), an extra vacuum cleaner, a bathroom scale, an unused rooftop antenna, and recently a box of excess Christmas stuff. I also posted that I wanted old cotton bluejeans to make a quilt and I got more than I could ever use. I feel So Good when I Freecycle.

    Happy decluttering.

  2. I do not know what is inside the cover, but I really, ReAlLy, REALLY would like to make the quilt on the cover, so I really, ReAlLy, REALLY would love to have this book. Thank you for sharing with some lucky winner. Oh, and I enjoy reading about your imperfect life!

  3. Dearest Stephanie! You crack me up! I feel the same about Legos and glad my boys outgrew them years ago! Hope you made some progress destashing!! Have a fab weekend!!

    • My son is sixteen and still builds things with them. We recently got new recliners and when we moved the old love seat, jackpot!, a whole slew of Legos to vacuum up!!

  4. I really should follow your example, and destash my sewing room. It is so much fun to accumulate sewing stuff. I would love to own the One Block Wonder book. The quilts on the covers are fun. It would be a great way to use some fabric. Happy cleaning. πŸ™‚

    • There’s so much fabric but every time I think of culling it, I think of something I can make. Or maybe I’ll get really industrious and get a bunch done. Yeah, right.

  5. I am SOOOO laughing out loud reading your post! Your writing style is awesome. Would love to help lighten your load – that cover quilt calls to me. Thanks for the opportunity.

  6. I would love, love, love to have your booklet! I am a beginner quilter (I’m 60, also) & love simple. Simple directions, simple blocks but wonderful colors! Well, if I lose, I still get to read your witty writing style & encourage me to keep on sewing & becoming fabric hoarder as required.

  7. i recently discovered i have misplaced all but 1, yep 1, of my pattern books. I’m going to guess that they are all tucked inside a fold of fabric inside a bag or box that holds everything required to make that specific quilt. it did get a little annoying when i tried to start new ones this year and making my list of ufo’s to finish.

  8. Please don’t enter me in the giveaway. I got several new books for Christmas and I am set for a while. However, I wanted to tell you my worst Lego nightmare. About 25 years ago when my oldest son was 5, he was home playing with Legos (a huge tub of them) and started to get sick. Yep, he threw up in his Lego tub. It was the worst. And yep, I washed the Legos. Not a good memory, for sure. All those Legos….

Leave a Reply

