The Retirement Quilt

🎢🎺🎢🎺🎢🎺🎢🎺🎢🎺🎢🎺🎢🎺

Strike up the band and can I get a chorus of ‘hallelujahs’ while I’m at it because, hello, I finished a quilt!

πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅πŸ’ƒπŸŽ΅

Not being one that actually finishes anything quilt related under tight time constraints, I can at least give myself a pat on the back that I finished it this YEAR!

  
Made for friend and (now former) coworker, Merle, on her retirement after 25 years at the hospital, it was a kit of gorgeous blue batiks.

The greenish marbled backing is also batik.  I used the ‘wrong’ side of the fabric as the right side had a really busy design.  It’s the first quilt I’ve ever completely bound by machine.  Me likey a lot.

  

Let me tell you a little about Merle.  She’s one of those people who is perpetually cheerful.  She’d sing the ‘Good Morning’ song and even though I’d roll my eyes and make gagging noises, I have to say…I kinda miss it.  And her.  

For the longest time,  I couldn’t decide if it was her nature or pharmaceuticals.  

It’s her.

  
The lady has mad kitchen skills.  Need a cake?  Here’s Merle.  Breakfast, lunch, brunch, snack, dinner?  Merle.  Recently had a baby?  Here’s Merle with casserole, salad, rolls AND dessert?!  Crap, I can’t even pull that off myself on a weeknight.

Just don’t start a debate on what constitutes chili.  Hint: there are NO noodles in chili.  

She’s a fount of marital advice, most of which I’ve cheerfully ignored.  Hey, Himself needn’t ever know about SNAP, m’kay?

I don’t do quilt labels ever, but I did put this on the back of hers and included her trademark expression.

   

Use it up until there’s nothing left, Merle.  Enjoy!
  

6 thoughts on “The Retirement Quilt

  1. Wooohooo, Im lucky to finish a cup of coffee let alone a quilt πŸ˜‰ Dont you love people who are perpetually cheerful, especially in the mornings πŸ™‚ Now you have one down, no doubt there will be more to come πŸ˜‰

    1. LOL, I know what you mean! I’m the s l o w e s t sewist (sorry, I can’t bring myself to say ‘sewer’) and quilter in the history of the craft. I have spurts of productivity and then periods of quilting drought. This was just my weekend to get ‘er done!

  2. I love this quilt…the pictures from a distance kind of resemble a tweed-like fabric…it’s really cool! Congrats on getting it done! Sounds like you had an excellent reason to be motivated πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

