The Strings are Strung

Last year I had a wild idea that I just had to make a string quilt.  When will I learn to ignore these yearnings?

Anyway, I am not a scrap saver.  Once done with a  project, the leftovers go to a new home so I can have room for more stroke-able, drool-worthy fabric.  While other quilters were saving selvedges and stringy bits, I was cutting into the copious fat quarters that were taking up valuable shelving space.  At this point in the my post, I need to take a moment to shout-out to my Mama and thank her for helping me cut up strips.  Thanks, Ma!  I’m so glad you have all this free time now that you’re retired.

I made sixteen 12-inch blocks from assorted-width strings.  Yes, I know it doesn’t technically qualify as a ‘string’ quilt, since the strings are supposed to be leftovers, but this is my blog post so I deem it so.  The strings were in widths of 2 1/2″, 2″, 1 1/2″ and 1″.  By the sixteenth block, I was beginning to curse the whole idea of string quilts and whomever came up with the whole concept.  I’m sorry, but I found it extremely teeeeeeddddddiiiiooooouuuussss even though the finished product is really cool looking.

Tedious…from the woman who loves paper-piecing.  Go figure.

001

I really like how it turned out and the size will make a nice lap quilt or larger baby quilt.  I’m still on the fence about a border…I’m leaning toward ‘no’.  Time will tell.

I’ll have plenty of strings from which to choose should I want to make more of these blocks since my newly purchased scrap bag is now teeming with all the leftovers.  Waaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Strings are Strung

    1. Thanks, Sue. I liked doing these blocks until about block #25, then it got a little tedious. I’ve moved on to other stuff, but those strings are calling to me again!

Leave a Reply

