It’s So Square

This quilt has been in the making since Noah closed the doors to the Ark.  Yep, that long.

Amazing how well it’s held up, eh?013

I finished it up at another Saturday Sew-in at The Roadrunner Retreat Center.  Three cheers for sewing all day and having someone else cook and clean up!

I must’ve started it when I first began my quilting adventures because it quickly became apparent that there was absolutely no regard for the scant 1/4″ seam.  The fabric looks like it might have come from a Hoffman Bali Pop but if you’re looking to quote me, you may be in trouble.  I like how it turned out even though neutrals aren’t my personal favorite and please don’t ask me why I bought the fabric to begin with.  I wish I could say this made a dent in my UFO collection, but I’d be lying.

Quite frankly, I can never die.

4 thoughts on “It’s So Square

  1. I’ve got a 9-Patch Hourglass that has been around ALMOST as long! I never thought of my UFO collection as my ticket to immortality . . .hmmmm, I suddenly feel so much better about that.

    1. LOL! I know if I kick the bucket before every last scrap of fabric is stitched up, my kids will insist I be featured posthumously on an episode of Hoarders. I don’t want thousands sitting in their recliners tsk-tsking over the bounty that is my sewing corner.

  2. I finished a lavender Ohio Star quilt last week. Not my favorite color. I made the blocks at least 15 years ago. One down, at least 15 more UFO’s to go. I need to live at least another 50 years to get caught up! Saturday I went to the New England Quilt Museum to see the Japanese exhibit. Unbelievable quilts, but no photos allowed.
    I love the quilt you made at retreat. This pattern is on my to do list. Very “modern”.

    1. It’s amazing to pull something out that’s been in progress since dinosaurs walked the Earth and think ‘What the hell was I thinking?!’ I know for certain I couldn’t sew the scant 1/4″…no regard whatsoever. I get as close as I can now, but it’s still not perfect. And some UFOs I know I’ll never finish; they’re just too awful to waste thread on.

Leave a Reply

