Girl’s Got It Made

In my next life, I want to come back as an American Girl doll.  They’re like Barbie only without the hooker shoes and skanky wardrobe…and no Ken doll to try and steal the spotlight.  My daughter’s Molly doll has got a good thing going with all her swag and I swear she knows it.  Heaven help me if she ever meets ‘Chucky’.    

Miss Molly is not without her fair share of quilts and today she acquired yet another.

008

It’s made from two packs of 2 1/2″ squares of ‘Marmalade’ by bonnie and camille for moda with a little white on white swirl from my stash.  The backing is ‘Safari Sweet’ by Alyssa Thomas of penguin & fish for Clothworks Organic Elements.  In the picture, it looks like it was stitched by a drunk sailor but I can assure you it’s straight and I haven’t had a drop.  Yet.

007

I don’t know the technical term for what I did for the binding, but I flipped the backing, folded it once and stitched it down.  It’s not my usual binding method and I’m not a huge fan, but if Molly’s offended she’s not talking.

006

From start to finish, it probably took me a total of three hours to complete.  Nothing beats the occasional project that’s wham, bam, thank you, ma’am.  Maybe next time I think I’ll go for pot holders.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Girl’s Got It Made

  1. It’s cute, you got to sew, the binding is the kind my grandma often did.Yea! Now making a barbie quilt would put you in a whole different category!
    LeeAnna Paylor
    lapaylor.blogspot.com

  2. My grandmothers both did that kind of binding, too. Reminds me of the “doily” I made for the top of my husband’s gun safe. I agree with LeeAnna, you got to sew and it is finished. Great day! Looks cute, too. I have a scarf made from that same collection. It is cheery. I like Molly. Maybe I need an American Girl doll….no, A Lego train was enough.

Leave a Reply

