Forty Licks

No, this isn’t a reference to how many licks it takes to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. Don’t know what I’m talking about? Google it, as my children are convinced I am now too old to remember much of anything other than paying them their allowance, but this old lady remembers Mr. Owl.

New Year’s Day is my birthday…whohoo…and this year was number 40. Again, whohoo, and forty licks would be how many licks I’d get in my birthday spanking if my mother were still so inclined to dispense them…which, thankfully, she isn’t. Right around Christmastime I decided I needed my very own quilt made by my very own hands for my birthday. Please don’t ask why I picked the busiest time of year to add yet another time-consuming something or other to my list, but there it is.

At the NYE sew-in with my mama and aunt, I managed to finish the top and part of the backing. The top finished at roughly 60×90. Yes, I do want to be swaddled like a baby, or a dead body, depending on your perspective and macabre sense of humor. Or maybe I could double as a human enchilada.

012

I thought of naming it after a cocktail but Pink Panty Dropper sounded too fraternity and Pink Lady, lady being the word in question, does not generally apply to me.  So, Forty Licks it is.

Here’s the backing I’ll be working on from now until next year.

013

I’d say I’m off to a good start in terms of quilting.  Here’s hoping the momentum lasts!

16 thoughts on “Forty Licks

  1. Happy (belated) Birthday!! I love your backing, and the top too of course! Can’t wait to see it all finished!

    1. Thank you, milady! I’ve decided to set weekly quilting goals so we’ll see how fast I can get it finished (and how long the goal setting lasts).

  2. Love it! Ya done good, kid. Thinking outside the box worked quite well for you. I expect to see the completed item the next time I’m in your neck of the woods. I might even have the mystery quilt I was working on finished too.

    1. Thank you! I don’t feel forty (someone asked me today if I ‘felt’ forty…whatever the heck that means). I figure if I set small goals, I’ll get there.

  3. What a great gift to give yourself. Happy Birthday! I love large quilts too. All parts of me need to be tucked in… even when I’m just lying on the couch. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the birthday greetings, Rachel. I want a quilt to reach from toes to chin (and preferably up over my head)…nothing needs to be sticking out.

Leave a Reply

