Hot On The Trail to Forty

Like most quilters, any quilt I make generally heads out the door faster than a kid who wants to be anywhere but home with Mom the Dud.  With a milestone birthday quickly approaching, I decided to remedy that little situation.

Is it tacky that I’m doing a DIY gift?  Who cares!  I’m doing it anyway!

020

I intend to snip off the ends so everything’s even (unlike my last haircut) and the whole shebang will get a really wide white border.  I foresee straight-line quilting in its future.  We’ll see how that turns out as I’ll be quilting it New Year’s Eve while partying with my Mama.  Can you say ‘margarita machine’?

022

021

I suppose now would be a good time to mention that I’ve never been a fan of pink and yet, here I am, making a pink one.  Crazy lady!  But it’s batiks (my favorite) and it has lots of orange (also a favorite) so it’ll all work out in the end.

I haven’t landed on a name for it yet but hope to have one by the time it’s finished.

I’m linking to Richard Quilts!

Happy Friday, y’all!

11 thoughts on “Hot On The Trail to Forty

  1. Well, I like pink and orange mixed, and scrappy look, so I’ll take it! (just thought I’d throw that out there…)
    love it.
    LeeAnna Paylor
    lapaylor.blogspot.com

  2. Oh, I forgot, yours is the first- EVER- blog I signed up to get by email. Since I consider myself funny, and smart, and
    smart-mouthed, and discerning, that’s a compliment.
    A compliment and a bid to be friends, at least on-line because you make me laugh and chuckles are few and far between here near the Nation’s capitol. Call me… just kidding.
    LeeAnna Paylor
    walkswithpoodle@gmail.com
    lapaylor.blogspot.com

  3. Quilting it while partying on New Year’s Eve? Call it “Drunkard’s Path” and say you quilted it that way on purpose!

  4. Oh, I’m loving those colours! I think it would look really cool with organic lines (meaning a little wavy) quilted along the length of each pink strip. Or along each seam line. I’m sure it will be fab, no matter what you choose to do. Thanks for sharing – oh, and Happy Birthday early!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

