Strung-out Weekend

Friday night, His Awesomeness had a classmate spend the night and our humble abode became the site of a Fast and Furious movie extravaganza.  My sewing corner is in the dining room and, since it’s all open-concept like so many houses today (whoever the hell thought that up should be shot!), I had a front row seat to four solid hours of tire squealing and explosions before I couldn’t take any more and hit the sack while the boys stayed up until the wee hours.  I will say I love the one with The Rock.  Ummm-hmmm, eye candy!  Since they sleep in the living room, I had the pleasure Saturday morning of trying to sew in the dark…

030

031

I’ve made several string blocks in the past using 2 1/2″ wide strips as I’m not a scrap saver and I like how they’ve turned out.  This weekend was no exception and I churned out blocks using leftovers from the quilt top I made for my mom’s retreat center.

033

Then I cut 1 1/2″, 2″, and 2 1/2″ wide strips from fat quarters and came up with these…

032

Me likey!

I still have more to sew on the girly frou-frou pink blocks, but the others I’ll make into a baby-sized quilt.  I may sash them, I may change the arrangement, I may leave them as is.  Who knows!

 

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. How funny, I am making string blocks too….just grabbing from the bin. Yours are much prettier than mine though, yours are nice and bright! Me likey too!

  2. I’ve never had an open concept house, but I’m about to build one, thinking that the more open the plan the more flexible the space. What don’t you like about yours, and what would you do to mitigate those areas of concern?

Leave a Reply

