My How Time Doth Fly

Almost a month since my last blog post?  No wonder I’m having withdrawals!  Today also marks my one-year blogiversary with WordPress.  Who says I can’t commit?

I spent most of my day anticipating a phone call from the school because *gasp* we were expected to experience our first of the season ice storm/blizzard and I knew for certain they’d be calling for all us hardworking parental types to come pick up our offspring.  The blizzard and the call never happened.  Yep, it’s icy on the trees and the power lines, but let’s be honest, this is central Texas and heavy snow only happens in my kids’ dreams.  My mother is ensconced at an end of year all-crafters retreat in north Texas and is iced in until at least Sunday.  We should all be so lucky.  I’m here, confined of my volition, for the weekend with the family and one of my son’s school chums, hunkered down so as not to run into a googly-eyed redneck hell-bent on making a grocery store run for beer and pretzels before the expected weekend snowpocalypse.  At least I have the dog.

On the quilting front, I’ve managed to accomplish something although I’m not sure if I like what I’ve got.  That’s not true.  I don’t like it.  At all.  It’s a quilt top I promised Dear Mother for the opening of her retreat center.  I had a vision when I started.  Or maybe it was more like a hallucination.  What is in this coffee?!  Anyway, Dear Mother wanted quilts that she could cover the entire bed surface as well as the pillow with.  I do believe they used to call those bedspreads, but I’m not arguing with a woman on a mission.

Here ’tis…

016

Sorry for the bad light and the fact that it’s hung sideways.  The sun has fled and the Jolly Green Giant wasn’t available to hold this puppy up.  The colors are actually brighter in person.  The borders are mint green with a darker polka dot.  My mother requested something ‘frou frou’ and girly so this is what she got and, in true maternal fashion, she says she loves it.  I don’t know that I want her to be honest.  And don’t tell me if you don’t like it either.  Let me have my delusion, okay.

I did finish another Tula Pink block which has kept me from total quilting depression.

004

This one called for twenty 1 1/2″ squares…cut separately and then sewn together.  Luckily, I laid down the pipe long enough to say to myself well, that’s totally stupid and actually strip-pieced and then cut them out.  A moment of genius if I do say so myself.  And I do.  Say so myself, I mean.

So, bring on the snow!  I’m all set for the weekend.  There are, after all, four bottles of wine in the fridge.

I’m linking up to Amanda Jean and Richard!

2 comments

    • Thanks for visiting, Karen! I don’t mind nasty weather as long as there’s chocolate, wine and a sewing machine…I’m easy to please like that. The Tula Pink blocks are really quick and fun.

Leave a Reply

