Feed My Featherweight More

My children are huge fans of WWE wrestling (yeah, I don’t get it either) and especially love Ryback whose famous line is ‘Feed me more!’  More what, I’m not certain…opponents, chicken wings, virgins?  Who knows?  Who cares?

That line, though, makes me think of feeding fabric through Lennie the Featherweight.  Square after square, strip after strip.  Some days (…months…years) all I want to do is feed fabric through the machine, it’s that cathartic.  The faster, the better.  I’ve become addicted to the cycle of feeding and finishing quilt tops and adore the Jelly Roll Race pattern.  I once spent an entire Saturday sewing nothing but JRR tops and finished four, five…something like that.  Addictive.  Like chocolate, only without the calories and cellulite.

So, it should come as no surprise that today’s finish is a JRR.  I picked these strips up at Wal-Mart and I will say that the strips themselves were a bit, how shall we say, wonky.    Like I’d cut them out after a third glass of Prima Mazzo.  Lesson learned: pay more, get straight strips; go cheaper and weave like a drunk man.  But I still love the colors.

001

002

Will it get a border?  Eh, maybe, maybe not.  My sewing cabinet is teeming with these babies…strip after strip of fabric wonder waiting for me to speed-sew them through Lennie’s gnashing feed dogs, the voracious beasts.

While I was outside trying to get decent shots, I had to snap a few of His Awesomeness.  At least someone around here was working (for once and under duress).

004

That’s my boy….’Nag, go away’.  Lovely child.

005

For some reason, his gloves make me think of a redneck Michael Jackson.  Go figure.

Well, I must be off.  I’ve a house to clean and it won’t clean itself.  Oh, who am I kidding?  I’m not cleaning it either.  I’m gonna go sew.  I’m linking up to Crazy Mom Quilts.

Happy weekend, all!

6 thoughts on “Feed My Featherweight More

  1. Love the colors too! I think I bought that same jelly roll. I’ll beware of the wonkinest, a woman in our guild likes to make these and then appliqué flowers on it or something. An idea?

    1. Thanks, Michelle. You could do applique, but that’s not my forte, I’m afraid. I kind of applied the ‘make do’ philosophy while sewing the strips and it turned out okay. Personally, I like the drunken sailor effect 🙂

  2. I love the colours in that quilt – and Im with you JRR quilts are fun to do because they are so fast. Sometimes you need something quick and almost instantly gratifying.

  3. I love the colors of this one!! I have made only one JRR one, but I have set aside fabrics to cut (I know-crazy right) to make a few more, but just haven’t gotten around to working on them. I think they turn out perfect size for baby quilts. I purchased a half a JR at JoAnns and went to cut more fabric from my stash to complete the other half of the roll—Thank GOODNESS I had measured the width of the strips before I started cutting my own–those one’s were 1/8″ wider than they should have been–slightly frustrating. So I do agree–spend the extra money for the good stuff (of anything!)!!!

Leave a Reply

