Blocks Behaving Badly

My Mama joined me yesterday as I eschewed responsible adult activities like housecleaning and sat myself at Lennie the Featherweight and proceeded to sew the day away.  I was and still am in a piecing mood…never mind the quilting part.  Give me piecing or give me death!  Or something like that.

I finished up the top today and, while I really like the end product, the blocks themselves were utter bee-otches.  Like a roomful of premenstrual women who’ve run out of Midol and chocolate.

016

I pieced this from a bargain basement charm pack ($5) and stash.  Hey, Julianne, do the reds look familiar?  They should since you sent them to me!  My Mama dubbed this one very ‘Japanese’ which I assume means tranquil which can be further interpreted as ‘totally not Stephanie’.  I admit it’s definitely not my usual but it’s growing on me.  Kind of like a fungus only without the fuzzies and anti-fungal meds.

We are now roughly one month away from the start of school.  Can you hear the heavenly hosts singing?  Oh, wait, haha, that’s me.  There’s a quilt retreat in the works, but I’ll save that for another post.

Brace yourselves, it’s almost Monday.

15 thoughts on “Blocks Behaving Badly

  1. How pretty!!! Hmmm….must look different in person because I don’t see Japanese at all. I really like it. I love red, though. Apparently, I am in the same piecing mood. I just counted 9 tops waiting to be quilted. Right now I am fighting borders. Grrrr….

    1. The blocks she was looking at have a Japanese feel to them. As for tops, I’ve got you beat at 17 but I just can’t help myself. Must. Feed. The. Machine!

  2. I think the gray sashing was a brilliant choice. When this is quilted it is going to be fab! I was bordering two quilts this weekend. Makes 14 tops that need quilting. I found a place that rents out long arm time with instructions. I’m going to check it out in September.

    1. I don’t know how brilliant it was so much as it was close at hand and just kind of worked. I’ll get on a tear of quilting and use my mom’s machine. Last time I did that, I whipped out 8 quilts in one weekend.

  3. Very pretty!

    I’m just the opposite when it comes to quilting vs. piecing. I coud vey happily never piece another quilt top as long as I’ve got enough hand-quilting to keep me busy.

Leave a Reply

