Pace Myself? I Think Not!

It’s been a busy week in the sewing department around here…well, busy for me anyway.  Hallelujah!  Two tops finished and another in the works.  I used a charm pack for each top plus yardage from my embarrassingly large stash.  Which means more room for more fabric…stay tuned for that story.

011

I like this one and they aren’t even ‘my’ colors.  It’ll make a nice lap-sized quilt.

 

014

Now, this is more like it colorwise!  I’ve been playing around with design and am doing the trial-and-error thing which I’m not too sure I’m a fan of.  I like instructions and order and balance…mainly because I don’t get a lot of the latter two in this house.  I’m resisting the urge to try and make everything ‘just so’.  In person, I like the lack of yellow border all around.  In the picture, meh, I’m not so certain.  But, it’s finished and that’s the way it’s going to stay even though my inner perfectionist is having a cow right about now.

The top I’m working on now uses leftovers I had from a quilt along hosted by Amanda Jean of Crazy Mom Quilts a couple of years back.  I had TONS of leftover 2 1/2″ wide strips I’d cut from fat quarters and not a lot of ideas as to what to do with them.  Then it hit me…

013
Nothin’ like a little bird tush to make you hurry up and snap the picture already!

No, not that!

Knowing how much I love a good Jelly Roll Race quilt, I decided to use the leftovers for a sort-of adaptation.  I kept calling it the Fat Jelly quilt but that just sounded gross so I decided on The F.S.H. quilt…that’s Fat Suburban Housewife.  Either that, or I can delude myself into believing I really meant it to be a hormonal quilt.  If you’re a medical person, you’ll get it.  Otherwise, I’d have to explain it and that just takes the fun out of it.  Whatever works.  These Jelly Roll type quilts sew up so fast that Lennie the Featherweight is one tired boy.

As a fitting end to my post, let me show you my score from the local quilt shop’s July 4th sale…

018

Can you say ‘$4.44 a yard for Moda and Amy Butler’?  SQUEAL!

Almost as good as the Red Wings winning the Stanley Cup (although not this year, damn those Blackhawks).

Almost.

I’m linking to Crazy Mom Quilts.

12 thoughts on “Pace Myself? I Think Not!

  1. Are you still making quilts for Moore?
    Love the new fabrics. For about 8 years I have only bought fabric to finish (borders, backs, etc). So many UFO’s!
    I want some red and aqua. Love that combo.

      1. I’m getting my disaster towns mixed up. I knew it was West. I wish all these awful things would just stop! How many have you finished and how many more to finish? Wish i was there to help. Do you spend any time on your own quilts?

      2. Here lately, it’s hard to keep all the towns straight, isn’t it? I’ve delivered 22 quilts with another 6 ready to go plus 2 fleece blankets…and I’m nowhere NEAR finished. My Featherweight is panting, I’m keeping him so busy! I have a box of completed tops that need to be sandwiched and tied which is probably what I’ll be doing today. I’m working on a top that might wind up being mine…I just haven’t decided yet. I’ll just keep plugging along ’til they’re all done.

Leave a Reply

