Aggie Romance

I wanted to title this one ‘Redneck Romance’ but Himself said he had neither beard nor mullet so he didn’t qualify as a redneck.  I beg to differ but for the sake of marital harmony and because I know I’m right, I’ll just let it go.

Himself surprised me today with a dozen lovely red roses. Unable to find a suitable vase, he opted for his much beloved and hard-won Bud Light beer pitcher.

001

There’s a story here.  Did you doubt it?

My husband graduated from Texas A&M University in College Station, meaning he’s an ‘Aggie’ and much higher up the evolutionary chain than those knuckle dragging Longhorns from T.U.  When a senior gets his/her class ring, they head down to the local dive bar, The Dixie Chicken, dunk the ring into  a pitcher of beer and proceed to chug until they reach the bottom.  With luck, they don’t chug the ring down, as well.  Think of it as modern man’s equivalent of the caveman bringing down his first mammoth.  Or so I’m told. 

This pitcher has been displayed somewhere in our home since we married in 1997 and to have roses in it is quite the honor.  And there you have it: redneck romance.

8 thoughts on “Aggie Romance

  1. How sweet…and very Redneck. Roses, huh? Did you have a baby? Roses, in my world, are for producing baby boys…which I did successfully three times. I have to say the Bud pitcher gives them a touch of …….I will just say a touch.

    He is sweet. Congratulations!

    BTW, I know a lot of rednecks that have neither a mullet nor a beard. Some of them are female.

    1. They were ‘just because’ roses which are the best kind in my humble opinion. The man does know how to score himself some brownie points, that’s for sure!

  2. I think putting them in his prized pitcher is love for sure! He’s combing two of his most loved things in the world with some beautiful roses. You must feel very special.

  3. I might have a distinctly different view of the relative evolutionary position of Aggies and Longhorns … .

Leave a Reply

